Scrubbing your range tops is going to take a heck of a lot of degreaser

05/15/2010 13:50

You know what they say about relocating….

You never know how many things you genuinely have until you have to box it all up in a box truck and then move it across town. When we first moved into the condominium, it took us one trip with a Tacoma, and we were done. Only three years later, it took me two trips in my ten food U-Haul and about twelve trips in my brother-in-law's truck; I still had enough junk to fill and entire dumpster. How did I acquire so much junk over the past three years? It is not like we went to IKEA or to garage sales every other week. I am amazed by the way all this junk seemed to increase over a short space of time.

After all that challenging work, there is still all the cleaning I had to do in order to get back my security deposit back. I am also amazed at how dirty everything seemed now the clutter had been carried away. There were grease stains on the carpet from my bike, small little nail holes in the dry wall that needed filling in, mildew on the tiles and around the taps in the bathroom and the kitchen. I don't even want to talk about those little drip pans that were caked with grease from 3 years worth of meals

I had presumed falsely that my oven somehow was self cleaning. If you leave the burner on long enough and let it burn hot enough, all that crud underneath it should just burn away right? I was so very wrong. I know know the truth, the longer you leave those little drip catchers without cleaning them, the more hopeless it is to clean them. I even tried to soak them in the strongest degreaser I could find at the time, and left them soak for over 8 hours. I did assist a small amount, but not nearly enough. It only took about half the grease off. I finally went out and just bought new ones.