How to remove grease stains

05/22/2010 00:00

It always looks that you have more things than you remember when you have to load it all into a truck and drive it away. When we first moved into the condominium, it took us one trip with a Tacoma, and we were done. A couple of years later, two trips with a ten foot box truck along with a 12 trips with the brother in laws Nissan, we still have enough garbage left to fill up the dumpster outside. Where did I get all this stuff from? It is not like we went to IKEA or to garage sales every two weeks. I am amazed by the way all this junk seemed to increase over just a few years.


Then, even after you move everything, there is still the cleaning up part that needs to be done to make sure that you get you deposit back. There are the grease stains on the flooring from your bike, those small holes in the wall that need spackling, windows with mildew, a bathroom with even more mildew, And then there is the range top of the stove. Oh, please do not even let me get started on those drip pans caked with three years of accumulated grease and grime.

I had presumed falsely that my oven somehow was self cleaning. I figured if I turned the burner on blast and let it burn long and hot enough, that it would magically incinerate all the muck beneath it. Not so my buddy, not so. In fact, apparently the longer you go without cleaning those drip pans, the more impossible they become to clean. I tried soaking them in heavy duty degreaser overnight. It kind of helped, but not a lot, only taking about one year's worth of crud off. It would have probably been smarter just to buy some new ones.